Hawaiʻi Book and Music Festival marks a dozen years of wonderful programs

The Hawaiʻi Book & Music Festival celebrated its 12th year as the archipelago’s premier literary and musical gathering. Thousands attended the free Honolulu gala, held on the weekend of May 6 and 7. Tom and his wife Catherine Robbins flew over from the Big Island to get the latest scoops on Hawaiʻi’s books and music scene and to meet up with writers and publishers from across the state. Featured below are just a few of the many people who participated this year.

Mahalo to Roger Jellinek, Amy Hammond, and their team of staff, volunteers, and financial donors who keep this wonderful festival going year after year! Thanks also to David DeLuca, Chair the festival board and President of the Hawaiʻi Book Publishers Association. To learn more, watch these short videos and see this year’s jam-packed schedule:

     Na Leo visual summary of 2017 festival: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wh1lwH5Sx8M

     The Hawaiʻi Book and Music Festival promo: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BiW2NY4vSoo

     The full festival schedule is available at http://hawaiibookandmusicfestival.com/schedule/

 

          

Festival founder and Executive Director Roger Jellinek (left),a panel of Bamboo Ridge poets (center), and Festival Chair David DeLuca (right).  (Story photos by Catherine Robbins and Tom Peek)

 

          

John Pomfret (left photo), Pulitzer Prize winning journalist and author of The Beautiful Country and the Middle Kingdom (http://www.johnpomfret.org); (right photo, l to r) authors Constance Hale (http://sinandsyntax.com/bio), Kirstin Downey (http://www.kirstindowney.com), and Pamela Rotner Sakamoto (http://www.pamelarotnersakamoto.com) discuss “Alternative Truth” in a powerful, provocative panel.

 

UH history professor Dr. John Rosa (left) joins Bamboo Ridge  poets (l to r) Ann Inoshita, Christy Passion, Juliet Kono and Jean Y. Toyama to discuss their potent and moving renshi poem about the notorious Massie murder case, What We Must Remember (www.bambooridge.com).

 

Panelists discuss the life of renowned Pacific archeologist Yoshiko Sinoto (Curve of the Hook, UH Press): (l to r) Moderator Nanette Napolean, Dr. Alexander Mawyer, Eric Komori, Hardy Spoehr and Dr. Frank Stewart. (See https://curveofthehook.wordpress.com for details.)

 

        

Pacific Authors (l to r): novelist Lillian Howan (http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4603895.Lillian_Howan); renowned journalist Tom Coffman (https://www.amazon.com/Tom-Coffman/e/B001K8147Y/ref=ntt_dp_epwbk_0) and UH Professor Dr. John Rosa (http://manoa.hawaii.edu/history/people/faculty/rosa/); novelist Rodney Morales (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rodney_Morales).

 

   

The Big Island was also represented on the festival program, including (left photo, l to r) crime novelists Veryl Ann Grace (http://www.verylanngrace.com), Jane Hoff (http://www.janehoff.com), Hal Glatzer (http://halglatzer.com), and Frankie Bow (https://frankiebow.com), with moderator Christine Reed (center back row), owner of Basically Books/Petroglyph Press (http://basicallybooks.com).  Big Island author Dr. Billy Bergin and his wife Pat Bergin (right photo) discuss Dr. Bergin’s latest book, The Hawaiian Horse (http://www.uhpress.hawaii.edu/p-9747-9780824837440.aspx).  

 

           

Tom mingled with the Bess Press ʻohana (www.besspress.com) at their festival booth, where he also chatted with customers and signed their copies of Daughters of Fire. (l to r) Sales representatives Dimpna Figuracion and Jen Yoneshige; Buddy Bess, Founder and Publisher of Bess Press with Tom; the 2017 booth; and Tom with a reader.

 

        

One of the many fabulous hula presentations  at the festival (left); Tom with his wife, artist Catherine Robbins (www.catherinerobbins.com); and award-winning slack key guitarist Jeff Peterson (www.jeffpetersonguitar.com).